Skip to main content

Your Dracut Today

Election 2019: Business Picks Up, As Two Potential BOS Challengers Emerge

Mar 13, 2019 08:32AM ● By Bill Gilman

While candidates have been few and far between for most of the races in the upcoming Dracut Municipal Election, business has picked up considerably at the top of the ballot.

In recent days, two potential challengers have emerged to take on incumbents Jesse Forcier and Tony Archinski for seats on the Board of Selectmen.

John Joyce and Brian Bond have both taken out nomination papers for the BOS race. They have until end of business on Monday, March 18, to return the papers with the needed signatures to earn their spot on the ballot. Forcier and Archinski have already secured places on the ballot.

Neither potential challenger is a stranger to Dracut politics. Joyce made an unsuccessful run for the Board of Selectmen in 2017, falling to incumbents Allison Hughes and Tami Dristilaris in a three-way race.

Bond is a former member of the Dracut Housing Authority and presently sits on the Board of Dracut Access Television. He also hosts "Dracut Connection" on DATV, a show that centers largely on Dracut politics and town government.

In the race for one seat on the Dracut Housing Authority Board of Commissioners, challenger George Kanavos appears to have a clear path to the seat. Incumbent Jesse Forcier is not seeking re-election and potential challenger Fred Spicer had taken out papers but has since announced he will not run, due to a new job out of state.

Nomination papers for both the Town and the DWSD Elections are available at the Dracut Town Clerk’s Office, 62 Arlington St. Nomination papers must be returned to the Town Clerk's Office for certification by end of business on Monday, March 18.

Both the Municipal Election and the Dracut Water Supply District Election will take place on May 6.

Ballot Status as of March 13, 2019:

Selectman (2) Three Year Terms

I -- Jesse Forcier (P) (R) (B)

I -- Tony Archinski (P)(R) (B)

John Joyce (P)

Brian Bond (P)

School Committee (2) Three-Year Terms

I -- Allison Volpe (P) (R) (B)

I -- Betsy Murphy (P)

Moderator (1) Three Year Term

I -- George Mailliaros (P)

Dracut Housing Authority (1) Five Year Term

Fred Spicer (P) (withdrew)

Charles Kanavos (P) (R) (B)

I -- Jesse Forcier

Trustee of the Public Library (1) Three Year Term

I -- Monique Verville (P)


Commissioner (1) Three Year Term

I -- Bob Corey (P) (R) (B)


I - Incumbent

P - Pulled Papers

R - Returned Papers

B - Officially on the ballot

Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @Dracut_Today