Skip to main content

Your Dracut Today

2018 Election: Third Candidate Joins Selectmen's Race

Mar 13, 2018 11:50PM ● By Bill Gilman

The days are dwindling down in the nomination period for the Dracut Municipal Election but names are still being added to the May 3 ballot.

John Joyce, who has run unsuccessfully in the past, has taken out nomination papers for another run for a seat on the Board of Selectmen. He joins incumbent Joe DiRocco and challenger Philippe Thibault in what is shaping up as a three-way race for one three-year term.

A three-way race is also on tap for two three-year terms on the School Committee between incumbents Joseph Wilkie, Daniel O'Connell and challenger Susan Koufogazos.

There is also a contested race on tap for one seat on the Dracut Housing Authority between incumbent George Nangell and challenger Frederick Spicer.

The nomination period closes March 19.

Nomination status, through March 9:

                                                                            Has taken out papers      Papers Certified

Board of Selectmen (1 Seats/ 3 Year Term) 

I - Joe DiRocco Jr.                                                          YES                                     YES

Philippe Thibault                                                             YES                                     NO

John Joyce                                                                      YES

School Committee (2 Seats/ 3-Year Term)  

I - Daniel O'Connell                                                          YES                                     NO

I - Joseph Wilkie                                                               YES                                    NO

Susan Koufogazos                                                            YES                                  YES

Dracut Housing Authority (1 Seat/ 5-Year Term) 

I - George Nangell                                                             YES                                    YES

Frederick Spicer                                                                 YES                                   YES

Trustee of Public Library  (2 Seats/ 3-Year Term) 

Gretchen Mayall                                                               YES                                    YES

James W. Nolan                                                                YES                                   NO

Dracut Water Supply District

Commissioner (1 Seats/ 3-Year Term) 

I - William "Zee" Zielinski                                                    YES                                  YES

Monderator (1 Seat/ 3-Year Term) 

Peter Natsios                                                                      YES                                  NO

The last day for candidates to file their nomination papers is Monday, March 19  before 5 p.m., at the Town Clerk’s Office. Candidates must have the signatures of 50 registered Dracut voters. 

Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @Dracut_Today