Drive Safe This Summer On Your Moped
Jul 10, 2017 05:15AM ● Published by Theresa Gilman
Summer in Massachusetts means more mopeds and other limited use vehicles on are the road. We ask that drivers keep in mind these safety tips while out on the roads.
Important Rules for Moped Operators
- Moped operators are subject to the traffic laws, rules and regulations of the Commonwealth.
- Mopeds have the right to use all public ways in the state, except limited access or express state highways where signs prohibiting bicycles have been posted.
- Mopeds may use bicycle lanes next to various ways but are excluded from off street recreational paths.
- Moped operators must signal their intention to stop or turn by using either hand.
- Mopeds may keep right when passing a motor vehicle which is in the travel lane of a way.
Not sure if your vehicle is required to follow moped laws?
According to MA law, a moped is a "motorized bicycle" that must:
- Have a cylinder capacity of no more than 50 cubic centimeters
- Have an automatic transmission
- Be capable of a maximum speed of no more than 30 miles per hour
- Comply with all applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards
In order to operate a Moped in Massachusetts you must be a person age 16 years of age or older, have a valid license or permit, drive at speeds 25 mph or slower, and you and any passengers must wear helmets.
For more information on moped use in Massachusetts or to obtain a moped sticker visit MassRMV.com.