Skip to main content

Your Dracut Today

Non-Profit Alliance Of Greater Lowell Awards 5 Local Nonprofit Leaders At 1st Annual Awards Breakfast

May 15, 2017 06:29AM ● By Theresa Gilman

2017 award winners with the NPA executive committee. James Dyment, Clerk (second from left); George Nugent, Vice President 9fourth from left); Elizabeth Cannon, President (center); Suzanne Frechette, Treasurer (fifth from left). Photo credit: Tory Germann.

(Editor's Note: the following information was provided by the Greater Lowell Community Foundation.)

Lowell—On April 26, 2017 the Non-Profit Alliance (NPA) of Greater Lowell hosted its 1st Annual Awards Breakfast at UTEC in Lowell. The NPA is a member organization that builds collaboration that strengthens the influence and impact of community-based organizations through sharing resources and advancing excellence in administration. The awards breakfast recognized the achievements, leadership, and talent at local nonprofit organizations.

Nearly 150 nonprofit leaders from the Greater Lowell community were in attendance at the awards breakfast. Attendees represented the diverse sub-sectors of nonprofits that serve Greater Lowell including healthcare, housing/homelessness, community development, social services, youth services, disability services, and hunger/food insecurity.

Awards categories included the Board Member Award, Unsung Hero Award, Volunteer Award, Program Staff Award, and the Kathy Reticker Executive Leadership Award.  Kathy Reticker, former executive director of Acre Family Child Care, was a long-time NPA member, local nonprofit leader, and advocate for women and children. The Kathy Reticker Executive Director Award was named in memory of Kathy who passed away this year.

This year’s awardees were Joe Hungler, Boys and Girls Club of Greater Lowell, recipient of the Kathy Reticker Executive Leadership Award; Dorothy Donovan, Lowell Association for the Blind, recipient of the Program Staff Award; Pamela Miller, Coalition for a Better Acre, recipient of the Support Staff Award/Unsung Hero Award; The Tuesday Crew, Habitat for Humanity of Greater Lowell, recipients of the Volunteer Award; and Amy Werner, The Community Family, recipient of the Board Member Award.

Nominations were judged by a devoted five member panel of community members,including Danielle McFadden, President & CEO, Greater Lowell Chamber of Commerce; Yolanda Coentro, President & CEO, Institute for Nonprofit Practice; Antonio Mendieta, Commercial Loan Portfolio Manager-AVP, Lowell Five; Susanne Beaton, Board Member, Greater Lowell Community Foundation and Executive Director, The Paul & Phyllis Fireman Charitable Foundation; and Bopha Malone, Regional Business Advisor-VP, Enterprise Bank.

To learn more about the NPA, visit our website HERE.

Follow us on Facebook at Follow us on Twitter at @Dracut_Today