Skip to main content

New Books, Movies Available This Week At Parker Memorial Library

Oct 08, 2016 10:33AM ● Published by Bill Gilman

Parker Library

This Week's Top Choices
At Parker Public Library

 

Home More Info  Borrow
By Harlan Coben. From Dutton.
 
 
Ten years after the high-profile kidnapping of two young boys, only one returns home in Harlan Coben’s next gripping thriller!

A decade ago, kidnappers grabbed two boys from wealthy families and demanded ransom, then went silent. No trace of the boys ever surfaced. For ten years their families have been left with nothing but painful memories and a quiet desperation for the day that has finally, miraculously arrived: Myron Bolitar and his friend Win believe they have located one of the boys, now a teenager.
Dog Man More Info  Borrow
By Dav Pilkey. From Graphix.
 (89 reviews)   
 
New from the creator of Captain Underpants, it's Dog Man, the crime-biting canine who is part dog, part man, and ALL HERO!

George and Harold have created a new hero who digs into deception, claws after crooks, and rolls over robbers. When Greg the police dog and his cop companion are injured on the job, a life-saving surgery changes the course of history, and Dog Man is born. With the head of a dog and the body of a human, this heroic hound has a real nose for justice.
Order to Kill (A Mitch Rapp Novel)More Info  Borrow
By Vince Flynn. From Atria/Emily Bestler Books.
 
 
In the next thrilling novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling Mitch Rapp series, the anti-terrorism operative heads to Pakistan to confront a mortal threat he may not be prepared for. In fact, this time he might have met his match.

Mitch Rapp is used to winning.

But in this follow-up to #1 New York Times bestselling The Survivor, the CIA operative finds himself chasing false leads from continent to continent in an effort to keep Pakistani nukes from falling into the hands of terrorists.
The Undoing of Saint Silvanus More Info  Borrow
By Beth Moore. From Tyndale House Publishers, Inc..
 (40 reviews)   
 
Exciting fiction premiere from beloved New York Times bestselling author Beth Moore.

Only God knew why Jillian Slater agreed to return to New Orleans on the news that her father had finally drunk himself to death. It’s not like they were close. She hadn’t seen him―or her grandmother, the ice queen―in almost 20 years. But when Adella Atwater, the manager of her grandmother’s apartment house, called and said Jillian’s expenses would be paid if she’d fly in for the burial, a free trip to New Orleans was too intriguing to resist.
The Martian: A Novel More Info  Borrow
By Andy Weir. From Broadway Books.
 (56,170 reviews)   
 
Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, he won't have time to starve to death.
The Wangs vs. the World More Info  Borrow
By Jade Chang. From Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.
 (123 reviews)   
 
A hilarious debut novel about a wealthy but fractured Chinese immigrant family that had it all, only to lose every last cent—and the road trip they take across America that binds them back together.
Magic Tree House #55: Night of the Ninth Dragon More Info  Borrow
By Mary Pope Osborne. From Random House Books for Young Readers.
 (6 reviews)   
 
Magic Tree House is the #1 bestselling chapter book series! In their NEW adventure, Jack and Annie return to Camelot!

In this thrilling adventure steeped in history, Mary Pope Osborne introduces readers to classic Welsh legends and continues her own story of King Arthur, Merlin, and the Knights of the Round Table.
They All Saw a Cat More Info  Borrow
From Chronicle Books.
 (141 reviews)   
 
The cat walked through the world, with its whiskers, ears, and paws . . .

In this glorious celebration of observation, curiosity, and imagination, Brendan Wenzel shows us the many lives of one cat, and how perspective shapes what we see. When you see a cat, what do you see?
The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery More Info  Borrow
By Susan Elia MacNeal. From Bantam.
 (48 reviews)   
 
Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as theNew York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.

England, 1942. The Nazis’ relentless Blitz may have paused, but London’s nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper’s crimes.
All the Little Liars (Aurora Teagarden Mysteries) More Info  Borrow
By Charlaine Harris. From Minotaur Books.
 (68 reviews)   
 
Aurora Teagarden is basking in the news of her pregnancy when disaster strikes her small Georgia town: four kids vanish from the school soccer field in an afternoon. Aurora’s 15-year-old brother Phillip is one of them. Also gone are two of his friends, and an 11-year-old girl who was just hoping to get a ride home from soccer practice. And then there’s an even worse discovery―at the kids’ last known destination, a dead body.
The Jealous Kind: A Novel More Info  Borrow
By James Lee Burke. From Simon & Schuster.
 
 
From award-winning, New York Times bestselling author James Lee Burke—an atmospheric, powerful, coming-of-age story set in 1950s Texas, as the specter of the Korean War looms.

On its surface, life in Houston in the 1950s is as you’d expect: stoic fathers, restless teens, drive-in movies, and souped-up Cadillacs. But underneath lies a world shifting under high school junior Aaron Broussard’s feet. There’s a class war between the “haves” and the “have-nots” as well as a real war, Korea, happening on the other side of the world.
The Littlest Bigfoot More Info  Borrow
By Jennifer Weiner. From Aladdin.
 (41 reviews)   
 
From New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner comes a laugh-out-loud funny and painstakingly real tale of friendship, furry creatures, and finding the place where you belong.

Alice Mayfair, twelve years old, slips through the world unseen and unnoticed. Ignored by her family and shipped off to her eighth boarding school, Alice would like a friend. And when she rescues Millie Maximus from drowning in a lake one day, she finds one.

But Millie is a Bigfoot, part of a clan who dwells deep in the woods.
Magic: A Novel More Info  Borrow
By Danielle Steel. From Delacorte Press.
 
 
Magic is the mesmerizing new novel from Danielle Steel, whose many #1New York Times bestselling tales have made her one of America’s most beloved writers.
Lucy & Andy Neanderthal More Info  Borrow
By Jeffrey Brown. From Crown Books for Young Readers.
 (54 reviews)   
 
For fans of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books comes a hilarious new graphic novel series about two young cave kids living 40,000 years ago.

The laugh-out-loud adventure features Lucy and her goofball brother Andy, as the Paleo pair take on a wandering baby sibling, bossy teens, cave paintings, and a mammoth hunt. But what will happen when they encounter a group of humans?

Humorous and entertaining, Jeffrey Brown’s signature comical touch enlivens the scientific and historical content, including a special paleontologist section that helps to dispel common Neanderthal myths.
The Angel Tree More Info  Borrow
By Lucinda Riley. From Pan Macmillan.
 (119 reviews)   
 
Thirty years have passed since Greta left Marchmont Hall, a grand and beautiful house nestled in the hills of rural Monmouthshire. But when she returns to the Hall for Christmas, at the invitation of her old friend David Marchmont, she has no recollection of her past association with it—the result of a tragic accident that has blanked out more than two decades of her life. Then, during a walk through the wintry landscape, she stumbles across a grave in the woods, and the weathered inscription on the headstone tells her that a little boy is buried here.
The Masked City (The Invisible Library Novel) More Info  Borrow
By Genevieve Cogman. From Roc.
 (346 reviews)   
 
Librarian-spy Irene and her apprentice Kai are back in the second in this “dazzling”* book-filled fantasy series from the author of The Invisible Library.

The written word is mightier than the sword—most of the time...

Working in an alternate version of Victorian London, Librarian-spy Irene has settled into a routine, collecting important fiction for the mysterious Library and blending in nicely with the local culture.
Robert B. Parker's Debt to Pay (A Jesse Stone Novel) More Info  Borrow
By Reed Farrel Coleman. From Random House Audio.
 (57 reviews)   
 
The brilliant new novel in Robert B. Parker’s New York Times–bestselling series featuring police chief Jesse Stone.

All is quiet in Paradise, except for a spate of innocuous vandalism. Good thing, too, because Jesse Stone is preoccupied with the women in his life, both past and present. As his ex-wife, Jenn, is about to marry a Dallas real-estate tycoon, Jesse isn’t too sure his relationship with former FBI agent Diana Evans is built to last. But those concerns get put on the back burner when a major Boston crime boss is brutally murdered.
A Great Reckoning: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel) More Info  Borrow
By Louise Penny. From Macmillan Audio.
 (1,059 reviews)   
 
When an intricate old map is found stuffed into the walls of the bistro in Three Pines, it at first seems no more than a curiosity. But the closer the villagers look, the stranger it becomes.

Given to Armand Gamache as a gift the first day of his new job, the map eventually leads him to shattering secrets. To an old friend and older adversary. It leads the former Chief of Homicide for the Sûreté du Québec to places even he is afraid to go. But must.
Guardians of the Louvre More Info  Borrow
By Jirô Taniguchi. From NBM Publishing.
 (22 reviews)   
 
A famous manga artist provides the latest entry in the Louvre collection of graphic novels. After a group trip to Europe, a Japanese designer stops in Paris alone, intent on visiting the museums of the capital. But, bedridden in his hotel room with fever, he faces the absolute solitude of one suffering in a foreign land, deprived of any immediate or familiar recourse. When the fever breaks somewhat, he sets out on his visit and promptly gets lost in the crowded halls of the Louvre.
Exploration to the War of 1812, 1492-1814 (A History of Multicultural America) More Info  Borrow
By William Loren Katz. From Heinemann Library.
 
 
A look at American history from "discovery" to the War of 1812 discusses the clash between native American and European cultures, the forced arrival of Africans, the opening of the southwest, and more.
Follow us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Dracuttoday/ Follow us on Twitter at @Dracut_Today
Town Hall, Arts+Culture books movies library Parker Library

It looks like we don't have any events for this date. You can always add an event.

It looks like we don't have any events for this date. You can always add an event.

It looks like we don't have any events for this date. You can always add an event.

It looks like we don't have any events for this date. You can always add an event.

It looks like we don't have any events for this date. You can always add an event.

It looks like we don't have any events for this date. You can always add an event.